Hall of Fame fails to induct anyone
(via Ron Cogswell)

Nobody is going into the National Baseball Hall of Fame this year. The MLB isn’t the most popular sport, for a multitude of reasons, but after today I think I know why. Jon Heyman tweeted that nobody on the Hall of Fame ballot for this year received the necessary 75% of votes to be immortalized in Cooperstown.

Spoiler: NO

In a wacky ass year for the world, politics seemed to be in the forefront of everything and Curt Schilling had to suffer for it. Schilling, who is famous for the bloody sock in 2004 against the Yankees, came closest to being inducted this year with 71.1% of writers voting for him. Schilling was denied at least one vote from Shi Davidi, a writer for SportsNet for his off the field actions

I forced myself into an objective evaluation of his career, which baseball wise is pretty compelling…But I couldn’t do it again amid his ongoing demonization of political opponents as enemies

-Shi Davidi

Anytime you have to say I looked at something objectively, but changed my mind after should be a red flag. You are voting for the baseball hall of fame, not a Nobel Peace Prize. And maybe his words spew hate (they do) but he is a legend in Boston for the sock and his performance in the ALCS.

Schilling himself announced on Facebook that he is removing himself from further Hall of Fame consideration after failing to get the required amount of votes this year.

I will not participate in the final year of voting. I am requesting to be removed from the ballot. I’ll defer to the veterans committee and men whose opinions actually matter and who are in a position to actually judge a player

Curt Schilling on Facebook

Schilling is sick of people looking past his on field career and judging him based off of his political stance and actions.

Read about how else baseball is failing to grow

Other notable names snubbed from the Hall of Fame this year include, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Todd Helton, Torri Hunter, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Scott Rolen, Gary Sheffield, Sammy Sosa, Billy Wagner, and Barry Zito

TL//DR: Baseball writers suck and nobody is going into the National Baseball Hall of Fame this year.