Sports Media

The Best FIFA Football Award

(AFP/David Ramos )

The Best FIFA Football Award Winners 2021

The Best FIFA Football Award
(AFP/David Ramos )

The Best FIFA Football Award Winners 2021

FIFA has announced the winners for the 2021 The Best FIFA Football Awards. Chelsea led the way with three winners across the Men’s and Women’s results. Here are all The Best FIFA Football Award winners.

The Best FIFA Football Award Men’s Winners

The Best Men’s Player

For the second year in a row Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski won the award. Lewandowski finished 2021 with 64 goals and 10 assists for the German powerhouse. Bayern was led by Lewandowski to a ninth consecutive Bundesliga title, a second Club World Cup title, and a ninth overall and second straight DFL-Supercup. Coming in second was Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah came in third.

The Best Men’s Goalkeeper

The first winner for Chelsea was their Senagalese goalkeeper Edouard Mendy, who is currently leading Senegal to two straight clean sheets in the African Cup of Nations. Mendy played a key role in Chelsea’s UEFA Champions League winning run by only allowing one goal in five matches. Mendy also finished third with 29 clean sheets in 53 appearances throughout 2021. This is the third time in the last four years that a Premier League goalkeeper has won the award and second time a Chelsea player was the winner, Thibaut Courtois 2018.

The Best Men’s Coach

Thomas Tuchel was the second Chelsea winner. After taking over the Blues in January last year Tuchel led Chelsea to a UEFA Champions League and UEFA Super Cup title in his first season incharge. Tuchel became the third consecutive German Premier League coach to win the award after Liverpool coach Jürgen Klopp won in 2019 and 2020.

FIFA FIFPro Men’s World 11

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan, PSG, Italy)

Defenders: David Alaba (Bayern Munich, Real Madrid, Austria), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus, Italy), Rúben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium), Jorginho (Chelsea, Italy), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea, France)

Forwards: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland), Lionel Messi (Barcelona, PSG, Argentina), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus, Manchester United, Portugal), Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

The Best FIFA Football Award Women’s Winners

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Barcelona midfielder Alexia Putellas added another trophy to her cabinet this season. Along with the Best FIFA Player she has won the Ballon d’Or, 2020-21 UEFA Women’s Player of the Year, and 2020-21 UEFA Champions League Midfielder of the Season. Putellas helped lead Barcelona to the UEFA Champions League title, Copa de la Reina title, and Spanish Primera Divisíon title in 2021.

The Best Women’s Goalkeeper

Chile’s Women’s National Team qualified for the Olympics for the first time in 2021 and a lot of that was due to the effort of captain Christian Endler. Endler played her club soccer for PSG and played a huge role in PSG winning their first ever French Division 1 Féminine title, while ending Lyon’s 14 year run dating back to 2007.

The Best Women’s Coach

Chelsea coach Emma Hayes won the award for the first time following a third place finish in 2020. Chelsea won three trophies in 2021, FA Womens’ Super League, FA Cup, and FA League Cup, while also finishing second in the UEFA Champions League.

FIFA FIFPro Women’s World 11

Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (PSG, Chile)

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea, England), Lucy Bronze (Lyon, Manchester City, England), Wendie Renard (Lyon, France)

Midfielders: Bonansea (Juventus, Italy), Verónica Boquete (Utah Royals, Milan, Spain), Delphine Cascarino (Lyon, France)

Forwards: Pernille Harder (VFL Wolfsburg, Chelsea, Denmark), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns, Manchester United, USA), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal, Netherlands), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign, USA)

Other Award Winners

FIFA Fair Play Award

The Denmark National Team and Medical staff was given this award due to their response to a near tragedy at the 2020 Euros. During the 2020 UEFA European Championships, Danish midfielder Christian Eriksen suffered a cardiac arrest on the field. As soon as Eriksen collapsed the rest of the Danish National Team built a wall around him blocking spectators from viewing the medical staff giving him CPR.

FIFA Fan Award

The fans at the match between Denmark and Finland where Eriksen collapsed were given the award as a result of the entire stadium chanting Christian Eriksen’s name while the players were off the field.

FIFA Puskás Award

In a match between Tottenham and Arsenal, Hotspur player Erik Lamela scored a wonderful rabona shot and was given the award for that strike. This was the second straight year a player for Tottenham won the award with Heung-min Son winning in 2020 with an outrageous solo goal against Burnley.

FIFA Special Award

This award was given to two players, Christine Sinclair and Cristiano Ronaldo. Sinclair received the award for breaking the record for most international goals in women’s soccer history. Sinclair has scored a total of 188 goals for Canada. Ronaldo received the award for becoming the all-time men’s leading scorer in international play passing Iran’s Ali Daei who had scored 109 goals. Ronaldo has now scored 115 goals for Portugal.

Vendetta Sports Media is sponsored by Monkey Knife Fight, the fastest-growing DFS site in the industry. MKF’s unique style and gameplay make betting fun and easy. Use our promo code ‘VENDETTA’ or use the link below to get a 100% instant match on any deposit and let them know that we sent you!
Signup now!

Check out the Vendetta Twitch!!

SHOP at the Vendetta Store!

SUBSCRIBE to the Vendetta YouTube!!

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Popular Past Stories

recommended past stories

Albert Pujols

Will Albert Pujols Reach the 700 Home Run Mark?

Will Albert Pujols Reach the 700 Home Run Mark? The 700 Home Run Club is…

Read More
Chuck Fletcher

Is Chuck Fletcher’s “Aggressive Retool” Already A Failure?

Is Chuck Fletcher’s “Aggressive Retool” Already A Failure? When Chuck Fletcher and Dave Scott sat…

Read More
UFC San Diego

UFC San Diego: Five Things We Learned

UFC San Diego: Five Things We Learned Aside from the main event, UFC San Diego…

Read More
Isiah Pacheco

Isiah Pacheco Is Worth A Dart Throw At The End Of Your Drafts

Isiah Pacheco Is Worth A Dart Throw At The End Of Your Drafts Don’t fret…

Read More