no-hitter
(AP Photo/Ashley Landis)

Should A Seven Inning No-Hitter Count As A Real One?

Last Sunday, Diamondbacks starting pitcher Madison Bumgarner pitched a complete game shutout versus the Atlanta Braves. He gave up no hits and struck out seven. Sounds like a no-hitter huh? In the eyes of Major League Baseball, however, it wasn’t.

The reasoning was because of the new rule put in place by the league in which doubleheaders must be seven innings apiece. Last season featured the rule for the first time. The games count, but why shouldn’t a no-hitter in that setting count?

It is in my honest opinion that Major League Baseball screwed Madison Bumgarner out of a no-hitter. He was as dominant as could be against the talented Braves offense. He didn’t even walk anyone. The only baserunner allowed was an error in the second inning that was quickly erased on a double play. Without that error, it would have been a perfect game. If this were the case, would Major League Baseball have counted it? There has to be some sort of special category since Bumgarner did literally everything he was supposed to do. We live in a world where the 2017 Houston Astros are World Series champs and Barry Bonds is the home run king. So why shouldn’t Madbum’s no-hitter count? It’s blasphemy.

Here are takes from fellow members of the Vendetta staff who also have an opinion on the rule.

“It sure sucks, but I can’t knock someone for doing in the parameters set. So it’s a yea from me.” – Manny Ruffin @Mookavelli

“I agree with Manny. Like we all will know it isn’t like a “real” no-hitter because it didn’t go 9 but we can’t fault them for going the length of that game without a hit given up. So yes for me as well.” – Garrett Burroughs @notorious_gmb

“I’m not sure. There’s something to be said for pitching a full 9 compared to just 7 cause so much can happen in 2 innings so the level of difficulty is significantly greater for a 9 inning no-hitter. It’s just different.” – Nick Aprea @naprea23

“The league and players agreed on a 7-inning game. It counts towards the standings and statistics, so it should be an official no-hitter. A 7-inning no-hitter is less impressive than a 9-inning no-hitter, sure, but he pitched the full game and gave up no hits. It should count.” – Karl Heiser @karlheiser17

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK

FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL

BUY A SHIRT

DONATE TO OUR PATREON

GO AND SUPPORT OUR SPONSOR SIMBULL. THEIR PLATFORM ALLOWS YOU TO INVEST IN YOUR FAVORITE TEAM AND EARN MONEY EVERY TIME THEY WIN. USE PROMO CODE “vendetta” WHEN YOU DEPOSIT.