Sports Media

2016 NFL Awards

(Patrick McDermott/Getty Images)

2016 NFL Awards: Who Wins Comeback Player Of The Year?

Jordy Nelson is my pick to win comeback player of the year. Who else is in the conversation? (Patrick McDermott/Getty Images)

The Comeback Player of the Year award often times is given out to a player recovering from a catastrophic injury from the year before. In other instances maybe a player who is coming off a bad year from a performance standpoint also is deserving of the award. Either way, let’s take a look at who should win this award.

  1. Jordy Nelson (Green Bay Packers)

In my opinion, I believe Nelson should probably win the award. Nelson’s 2015 season ended before it ever began tearing his ACL in the preseason. When Nelson got injured it began a ripple effect of Aaron Rodgers confidence where he drastically underperformed without his main target. Nelson started the season slowly but he has put together a heck of a 2016 season (97 catches, 1,257 receiving yards, and 14 touchdowns). His 14 receiving touchdowns lead the NFL.

2. DeMarco Murray (Tennessee Titans)

Chip Kelly ruined Murray’s 2015 season by poor play calling. Kelly was convinced Murray could run the same scheme LeSean McCoy could run as foolish as that sounds. Murray rushed for 1,287 yards in 2016 (585 more than the year before). His 12 touchdowns made him a fantasy star all season long. For a team that ran the ball so often, it wouldn’t shock me if Murray won.

3. Cameron Wake (Miami Dolphins)

Both Wake and Terrell Suggs are coming off of torn Achilles injuries which would have been career-enders 10 years ago. Wake finished the year with 11.5 sacks and 24 total quarterback hits. He also added 5 forced fumbles to his stat line. Without Wake, the Dolphins probably wouldn’t be in the playoffs.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

recommended past stories

Week 13 breakout candidates

2022 NFL Fantasy Football Breakout Candidates: Week 13

2022 NFL Fantasy Football Breakout candidates: Week 13 We are nearing the dog days of…

Read More
Blake Corum

Blake Corum to Undergo Season-Ending Surgery for Knee Injury

Blake Corum to Undergo Season-Ending Surgery for Knee Injury Michigan will be without star running…

Read More
Mazi Smith

Mazi Smith is Facing a Felony Gun Charge

Mazi Smith is Facing a Felony Gun Charge Michigan defensive tackled Mazi Smith has been…

Read More
DeShone Kizer

Does DeShone Kizer Believe 9/11 Happened?

Does DeShone Kizer Believe 9/11 Happened? Aaron Rodgers is a weird dude with some interesting…

Read More